Mother’s Day

On Cinco de Mayo I was having dinner at a Mexican restaurant with my 16-year-old stepdaughter, Aja. Her brother hadn’t joined us because he had something going on at school. She asked me if I had any plans for Sunday. I didn’t.

“Well,” she said, “it’s Mother’s Day. We’re having brunch with my mom… and I’d like to take you out to dinner. You, me and Sean.” I told her I would love that. She smiled and said, “You’re my second mom.”

I’ve never been acknowledged on Mother’s Day before. When Mike was here, the kids always spent Mother’s Day weekend with their mom and Father’s Day weekend with us. Mother’s Day for me has always been about remembering my mom – sending her a card and flowers, calling to talk to her. Today I called my mother-in-law, and I just got off the phone with my mom. (Mom is feeling much better and was discharged from the hospital to a step-down nursing care facility on Friday.) In a little while I’ll be picking up Aja and Sean for our dinner date, and then we’re going to see a movie.

I’m so touched that Aja wants to spend part of Mother’s Day with me, that she thinks of me as her second mom. She’s the only daughter I’ve ever had, or ever will have at this point, and the way our relationship has been strengthened and deepened by the tragic loss of her dad is one bright spot in a very dark time.

~ by hourbeforedawn on May 9, 2010.

3 Responses to “Mother’s Day”

  1. To quote my daughter, Willa – saa-wweet! You three belong together…no matter what.

  2. Love this!!!

  3. this is an incredibly sweet blessing, especially coming out of such heartbreak. i am rejoicing with you lira!

Leave a Reply

 
