Finding beauty

I woke up yesterday and didn’t know what to do with myself. For the first time in many weeks, I had a day with no agenda, no tasks that needed to get done. So, after a quick breakfast, I decided to take a walk and explore my new surroundings.

There’s a hiking trail that begins not half a mile from my mom’s apartment…

It was a beautiful morning for a hike – clear blue skies, 80 degrees and a nice breeze. I listened to birdsong, saw butterflies and squirrels and small lizards, and felt at peace. The trail winds around some interesting rocks formations…

Here’s a close-up of the patterns on the rocks.

I stopped here, at Willow Lake, and watched an old man fishing with his dog and a family of ducks on the water.

And as I reflected on the beauty all around me, I recalled a moment in the grocery store parking lot the day before, watching a plastic bag dance in the strong wind, which reminded me of those lines from the movie American Beauty: “I guess I could be pretty pissed off about what happened to me… but it’s hard to stay mad, when there’s so much beauty in the world. Sometimes I feel like I’m seeing it all at once, and it’s too much, my heart fills up like a balloon that’s about to burst… And then I remember to relax, and stop trying to hold on to it, and then it flows through me like rain and I can’t feel anything but gratitude for every single moment of my stupid little life.”

~ by hourbeforedawn on July 3, 2010.

5 Responses to “Finding beauty”

  1. When you can find gratitude, I know you’re doing OK, at least in this moment. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Beautiful sentiment. I too try to take opportunities to marvel at the beauty around me. It helps me to see that sometimes my vision of the world is too small. If I appreciate how grand this world is, then my grief can feel smaller by comparison. Just a simple was of getting a different perspective.

  3. Don’t quote me on this, but I believe you’re in Hopi territory. Very strong medicine runs there. I suspect you’ll find what you’re seeking there… 🙂

  4. Love it! Love the scenery, love the quote, love the fact that the Lira I knew in high school probably wouldn’t have gone hiking HERSELF…evolution – great thing…this is indeed a wonder-FULL world.

  5. beautiful

Leave a Reply

 
