In Beauty

I stood watching this sunset, over a small town in Colorado, just awed by the beauty of it. I’ve felt that way about a lot of sunsets this past month. It’s good to get out of the city once in a while, to realize how much beauty there is in this world. It makes me feel thankful to be alive… and then my heart hurts because, despite all the beauty and all the love in this world, Mike couldn’t find a reason to want to keep living. My heart hurts because there’s all this beauty in the world, and I can’t share it with him anymore.

Today I took my mom, my two nieces and my nephew up into the mountains, to the town of Estes Park, for the day. We did some shopping, ate a picnic lunch on the shore of Lake Estes, and drove through some spectacular scenery.

And I’ve been thinking… I really am glad to be alive, a feeling that would have surprised me a month ago. And I owe it to Mike, to his memory, to experience all the beauty that this life has to offer – for both of us.

There’s a Navajo poem that ends with this stanza:

With beauty before me may I walk
With beauty behind me may I walk
With beauty above me may I walk
With beauty all around me may I walk
In old age, wandering on a trail of beauty, lively, may I walk
In old age, wandering on a trail of beauty, living again, may I walk
It is finished in beauty.
It is finished in beauty.

Amen.

~ by hourbeforedawn on July 26, 2010.

3 Responses to “In Beauty”

  1. Beautiful, Lira.

  2. I love Estes Park! It is gorgeous there and I’m so glad you could enjoy that with your family. Next time I get back to Colorado we have got to get in to the mountains.

  3. absolutely beautiful landscape. It made me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
