Family Snapshot

On the glass shelves in my mom’s hallway is a framed 8×10 photograph that I gave her for Christmas a couple years ago. It’s a family portrait taken in a park in Kansas when we visited Mike’s parents there two years ago. The kids are sitting on a park bench, and Aja has her arm around her brother’s shoulders. Mike and I stand behind the bench, his arm around my waist. My smile is radiant.

I was so happy that day, delighted to be included in the family portraits arranged by Mike’s mom, even though I wasn’t technically family.

The first time I came here to visit my mom after Mike died, seeing that family photo on her shelf gave me comfort. Now it haunts me, torments me with everything I’ve lost. Yesterday I moved the photo to a lower shelf, where it wouldn’t catch my eye every time I walked by. Maybe I’ll give her a new photo to replace it this Christmas.

~ by hourbeforedawn on July 31, 2010.

One Response to “Family Snapshot”

  1. Yes unfortunately the photos can torture us, but they also help keep the memories alive. My husband passed the same way and sometimes the photos help and sometimes I have screamed at them. I think that you have found what will help you and others as myself, your writing. It seems to be your passion. Thank you for sharing this with your readers.

Leave a Reply

 
