If it’s Thursday, this must be Texas.

After a long travel day that began at 9:00 a.m. and included a two-hour drive and two flights, I arrived at my brother’s house in Corpus Christi, Texas around 8:30 p.m. last night. It feels good to be here.

My brother and sister-in-law were both at work when I woke up. I drank my green tea from a “Welcome to Las Vegas” mug and thought about the new friend I made on my last trip to Vegas. A couple hours later, I answered a knock at the door and was astonished to find a FedEx driver holding a distinctively shaped box… for me. This was inside:

I knew who it was from before I even read the card. Nila, my new friend from Vegas, was the only person who’d asked for my brother’s address. When she said she wanted to send me something, I was expecting a card… or a little care package like my friend Kerstin sends me, with tea and fudge and bath salts. But I LOVE getting flowers, and it absolutely made my day. Thank you, Nila!

The last few days have been hard. There have been a lot of tears. But I’ve made it through another “anniversary” and today has been a better day.

~ by hourbeforedawn on August 5, 2010.

2 Responses to “If it’s Thursday, this must be Texas.”

  1. I just spent the last few hours reading each and every one of the posts on your blog. I wanted to thank you for writing them. I lost my husband about a week before you lost yours. While the situations that caused our losses are very different, the emotion in each of your posts matches exactly what I have been going through. Each post took me back to where I was at that same time and it almost feels like we have been going through this together yet in our completely seperate worlds. I don’t think that I could have ever expressed my feelings and thoughts in such a manor as you have. Thank you again for sharing.

Leave a Reply

 
