Healing ocean adventures

It’s hard to believe this is my last night in Corpus Christi. The week has flown by! When I first arrived, one of my friends said she hoped that I would find healing here that is unavailable anywhere else. I wasn’t sure what form that might take… but I think I found it at the beach on Padre Island on Sunday afternoon.

While my brother Bruce unpacked the truck and got the jet ski in the water, I walked on the beach with my sister-in-law, Rossana. We picked up shells, watched gulls and sandpipers and a black Lab playing fetch in the water… and then we sat and let the warm waves wash over our legs like a caress. I always find the ocean so soothing, and I could feel all my anxieties melting away.

While Bruce took the jet ski out for a run, Rossana tried to teach me how to boogie board. The waves weren’t that big and I kept running up on sandbars, having to push off with my hands, but it was still fun.

And then it was time for the big jet ski adventure! The last two times I visited Bruce and Rossana, I said I wasn’t interested in the jet ski. Truth: I was scared. But this is my Summer of Yes, and when Bruce asked if I wanted to go out on the jet ski, this time I didn’t hesitate.

Concerned about my sun exposure, Rossana convinced me to put on long pants and long sleeves, in addition to my life jacket. Climbing onto the jet ski as it bobbed around in the waves like a cork proved to be difficult… but soon enough I was hanging on to my brother and we were off!

The water was pretty choppy, and there was so much spray in my face that even with sunglasses on my eyes were soon burning from the salt. I held on tight. But when my brother asked if I was scared, I realized that I wasn’t. Not quite comfortable yet, but not afraid.

Bruce drove us almost five miles out into the Gulf of Mexico, to this oil rig…

… and we didn’t see another craft on the water.

We fished for a little while, but nothing was biting. When it was time to head back, Bruce told me I was going to drive. Right, OK… Summer of Yes… I can do this…

And you know what? I was a lot more comfortable in the driver’s seat than hanging on in back. I got the hang of it quickly, and my brother said I was a natural.

I even jumped a big wave, and Bruce said we went about eight feet in the air. I was laughing when we came down, exhilerated, feeling more alive than I had in a long time… but I’d freaked my bro out just a little bit, and he didn’t want me to jump any more waves. LOL

I was a little seasick when we got back to the beach and dozed in the deck chair until it was time to pack up and go home. Exhausted but happy, I took a shower and then a nap while Bruce and Rossana made dinner. The food was spectacular, and I had a deep appreciation for every single bite.

~ by hourbeforedawn on August 10, 2010.

5 Responses to “Healing ocean adventures”

  1. I’ve always found the ocean soothing as well Lira. I’m glad you had such a wonderful adventure. It sounds like tons of fun. I sailed my parents’ boat by myself for the first time this summer and it was such a good feeling to be in charge, to feel competent and in control yet at a certain mercy of nature. A friend of mine once wrote that swimming in big waves in the ocean both terrifies and exhilarates him simultaneously. I think he was talking about that edge where you are in control, and yet you’re not really because it is the ocean, the wind, the water and you can’t predict it or really control it-like much of life.

  2. Hi Lira. This does indeed sound quite healing. I’m sure the adrenaline rush was good for the soul as well. I’m loving our time at the beach as well. My boys and I get there a few times a week for our boogie boarding fun. Sounds like this trip was just what you needed.

  3. It sounds like you’ve had a wonderful time at the ocean. I do believe it’s a good place to find healing.

  4. *~*Good for you!*~*~ It’s so great to see you smiling and healing and LIVING!

  5. oh lira! i love seeing that smile on your face! my pastor always calls the ocean the best playground God ever made for us. after reading your post i realise that not only does the ocean provide us with play, but also healing. amazing!

Leave a Reply

 
