Gratitude

I bought flowers for Mike today. Pink roses probably aren’t what I would have chosen for him when he was alive, but I like them and I smile when I look at them.

Today is a better day. The storm of grief has passed, leaving clearer skies. Instead of thinking about what I’ve lost, today I’m choosing to focus on all the blessings in my life.

I am grateful for…
~ six years with my soul mate
~ knowing that Mike loved me with all his heart, right up until the moment that he died
~ my best friend Sheila
~ the comfort of being at my mom’s house
~ the opportunity to travel this summer and spend lots of time with family and friends
~ the return of The Hothouse
~ the wonderful community of friends I met through Hothouse
~ a job interview next week
~ my friends in Las Vegas, especially Nila
~ a week in Vegas coming up very soon
~ my healthy body and mind
~ my therapist
~ my Survivors of Suicide support group
~ my online communities
~ the connections I’ve made through this blog
~ a loving and supportive family, including my in-laws

This is how I’ve decorated the shelves in my bedroom at Mom’s house…

… celebrating my family (top), my friendships (middle), and my love. Even through the pain of grief and loss, I really do have a lot to be grateful for.

~ by hourbeforedawn on September 4, 2010.

6 Responses to “Gratitude”

  1. You are such an inspiration to me…
    You are in my thoughts and prayers often-
    Shay

  2. This is so beautiful. Lira. It’s easy to think (or be told), snap out of it, there’s so much to be grateful for, focus on that and not the grief… But it’s another thing altogether, a special kind of grace, to be grieving AND grateful and to know that both are so very true and real. Thank you for sharing your path.

  3. I find taking a moment to count your blessings is always eye opening. When I’m down, I think first of my daughter, who I would not have except for my husband, and the love I experienced for those ten years we were together. And I always feel blessed just for having a love I could count on, when so many never have that.

  4. It is always so refreshing when the clouds part, and the sun is able to warm our heart. You have made very good use of this opportunity, which is evident in the tone of your words. You list of “Grateful” is perfectly stated, and a wonderful gift for you to hold onto.

    I hope this lightness of spirit stays with you for a while, and that you always remember that it is there for you to rely on when times are not as easy.

  5. πŸ™‚ that is my favorite thing to do…let my heart swell with how much there is to be grateful for. there is a neverendling list for us all.

    ps…that made my day to see that jar i made you on the shelf xxx

Leave a Reply

 
