Smile because it happened

This morning, still in that half-asleep fog, eyes red and swollen from crying last night, I logged on to Facebook while drinking my tea. A friend had posted a quote by Dr. Seuss that caught my eye: “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.”

I like that. And I’m tired of crying. So, today I’m smiling because, on our third date, Mike and I spent over 12 hours together and it was all magical. And because six years later, we could still be together 24/7 and never tire of each other’s company.

I’m smiling because we had a fairytale wedding that was everything I’d ever wanted, because he sang “You Are So Beautiful” to me as I walked down the aisle, and because of the way he looked at me the first time he called me “my wife”…

… and because of the time we were dirty dancing at a friend’s gig and then snuck outside to make out by the tennis court…

… and because I never knew sex could be so good.

I’m smiling because we could sit up all night just talking, never running out of things to say, and because we went on long road trips and sang together in the car… and because he could always make me laugh and make me think about things in a new way.

Today I’m smiling because I fell in love with my best friend…

… and because a brilliant, artistic, talented, thoughtful, passionate man fell in love with me. Because it happened.

~ by hourbeforedawn on September 28, 2010.

4 Responses to “Smile because it happened”

  1. aw that was a sweet post lira. what an amazing gift.

  2. I love this post.

  3. A-M-E-N Sistah! I know you’ll never forget all those wonderful times and feelings. Thank you for sharing a few.

  4. So beautiful Lira.

Leave a Reply

 
