Hollywood moments

Some friends of mine recently bought a house in the Hollywood Hills. At their housewarming party last night, I stood with a friend on the balcony decked with twinkling white Christmas lights and looked out at the hills, a warm breeze gently ruffling our hair. “This is such a Hollywood moment,” she said.

Later in the evening, there were six of us gathered on the balcony, sharing a bottle of wine, passing a guitar around and singing. Parties with this group of people always end that way, and I love it. When our host began to play the familiar intro to Dire Straits “Romeo and Juliet,” I felt a lump in my throat and a tightness in my chest. The tears flowed at the line “All I do is miss you and the way we used to be,” and two of my friends immediately reached out to comfort me with a touch on the arm and a squeeze of the hand. My heart hurt, full to bursting with both grief and gratitude.

Today it’s a different lyric from that song that keeps coming back to me: “I dreamed your dream for you and now your dream is real.” The life I have now, this wonderful circle of friends, these Hollywood moments were all made possible by falling in love with Mike. He’s the reason I took the improv classes that made me part of this extended theater family, and his faith in me gave me the confidence I lacked. My friends tell me they can see it, how much I’ve grown, how I’m a better and stronger person because of what we had together.  And everything he gave me is mine to keep forever, even though he’s gone. His gifts have become a part of who I am.  Mike dreamed the dreams I didn’t dare to dream for myself… and some of them, at least, have become real.

Last night I began to believe again in the possibility of a happy ending to this story. There’s just something magic about those Hollywood moments.

~ by hourbeforedawn on December 12, 2010.

One Response to “Hollywood moments”

  1. Ahh, Juliet, the dice were loaded from the start…

Leave a Reply

 
