Soul mates

I’m back at my mom’s place in Arizona for the holiday. It’s good to be here with my mom, my brother and his cat, Roy. It’s the closest thing I have to home right now.

At the end of a lazy, relaxing day I was curled up in bed reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s “Eat Pray Love.” Yes, I’m a little late to the party. When all my friends were reading it a couple of years ago, it didn’t appeal to me. But it speaks to me now, and this passage about soul mates went straight to my heart:

“People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that’s holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life. A true soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake. But to live with a soul mate forever? Nah. Too painful. Soul mates, they come into your life just to reveal another layer of yourself to you, and then they leave. And thank God for it.”

By this definition, Mike was definitely my soul mate. He woke me up, emotionally and sexually and intellectually. He challenged me to change, sometimes kept poking at me about it until I was ready to smack him. He saw in me talent and grace and beauty that I’d never been able to see in myself… but because he held the mirror up for me, I saw it, and it became real. He revealed myself to me, and then he left.

These past nine months I’ve been feeling cheated because we found each other so late, because we had so few years together. Tonight I’m thanking God with all my heart that we found each other at all.

~ by hourbeforedawn on December 21, 2010.

3 Responses to “Soul mates”

  1. So many people are never, ever that lucky to have had even that brief of a moment with a person who brings so much love and growth and revelation to them.

    For as much as it hurts you to have lost him, I would submit that you have also found yourself.

    Love to you.

  2. Hold on to your thoughts and feelings in this post….they are true and beautiful and right ❤

  3. So true and so beautiful. I know the last 14 months with my beloved has done just that for me: walls torn down, mirrors held for me to see the good and bad. Wow, thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

 
